Local government tax equivalents regime

Commercial business units of local government may need to pay tax equivalents under the Local Government Act 2009.

Tax equivalents are paid to the Office of State Revenue for:

  • transfer duty
  • insurance duty
  • vehicle registration duty
  • land tax
  • payroll tax.

Annual tax equivalents returns are due by 31 October each year and can be lodged online using OSRconnect. The schedules to the return must be completed and retained as part of your record-keeping obligations.

PDF versions of the tax equivalents return and schedules are available from Queensland Government publications.

For more information see the Local government tax equivalents manual (September 2010).

Last updated: 24 May 2017